Match Report by Luke Winner.

Rochdale visited the Fox’s Biscuits Stadium looking for revenge. However, the Bulldogs proved too much for a young Hornets side once again, defeating them 23 – 14.

5 minutes into the first half, Declan Kay sent out a long cut-out-ball pass to Robert Massam to start their tally on the score sheet. Whittaker couldn’t convert.

Dominic Brambani managed to break down the opposing defence quickly, weaving himself around various defenders to stamp over the line. Walker converted.

What was a great start from the Hornets was soon put to the test by Diskin’s men. Alex Rowe bulldozed his way through a tough oppositions line, drawing in the full back to put a supporting James Harrison over. Walker converted.

Rochdale pushed Batley to their limits, forcing Joel Farrell to knock the ball forward. Daniel Yates gathered the ball straight away keeping the game alive sending Robert Massam to run the full length and pass out to his support Deon Cross. Whittaker converted.

Alex Bretherton followed in similar fashion to Brambani seconds earlier, moving left to right diving over the line. Walker converted

HALF-TIME: Batley Bulldogs 18 – 10 Rochdale Hornets

The second half didn’t see many more tries occur, however it did see some great ferocious, speeding ball play along the line. Izaac Farrell, Dominic Brambani and Patrick Walker caused issues with their fast-paced decisions, reaffirming pressure on the visitors.

Isaac Farrell claimed his first try at the Fox’s Biscuits Stadium, after coming out of dummy half to speed across on the left-hand side. Walker struggled to make the conversion.

As Batley looked to secure the double over Rochdale, Izaac Farrell laced his boots up once more adding a well-placed drop goal.

Kilshaw’s men didn’t go down easy though, as winger Robert Massam went over following some great work down the line. Whittaker converted.

Despite what was a late comeback from the Hornets, Batley managed to hold on successfully claiming the double.

FULL-TIME: Batley Bulldogs 23 – 14 Rochdale Hornets.

Batley Xlll – Dave Scott, Shaun Ainscough, Danny Cowling, Lewis Galbraith, Jason Crookes, Izaac Farrell, Dominic Brambani, Adam Gledhill, James Davey, Alex Rowe, James Harrison, Joel Farrell and Patch Walker.

Interchanges – Michael Ward, Sam Smeaton, Alex Bretherton and Joe Chandler.

Rochdale Xlll – Declan Kay, Richard Lepori, Earl Hurst, Deon Cross, Robert Massam, Tyler Whittaker, Daniel Yates, Patrick Moran, William Brickhill, Lewis Hatton, Setareki Talatoka, Lee Mitchell and David Allen.

Interchanges – Jonah Cunningham, Jordan Syme, Matthew Hadden and Alex Gaskell.