First Wembley Visit For Batley Club

Batley Bulldogs and Halifax Panthers to make history in the AB Sundecks 1895 Cup Final

Batley Bulldogs and Halifax Panthers will make history on August 12 when both clubs make their final bow in the AB Sundecks 1895 Cup Final at Wembley Stadium (KO 5.30pm.)

The cup competition was introduced in 2019 and offers Championship and League One clubs an opportunity to play in a knockout competition and earn a place at Wembley on Challenge Cup Final day – traditionally a celebration for the sport of Rugby League.

Batley, famously three-time winners of the Challenge Cup, including the first in 1897, will hope to write another notable chapter in the town’s history after beating York Knights 22-8 in the semi-finals to reach Wembley for the first time in their 143-year history.

Halifax are five-time Challenge Cup winners – their last success coming in 1987 against the same club Batley had defeated 100 years earlier: St Helens. The Panthers booked their place at the national stadium for the first time in 35 years with a memorable 6-10 victory at London Broncos.

With head coaches Craig Lingard (Batley Bulldogs) and Simon Grix both confirming their departures from their respective clubs at the end of this season, the fourth AB Sundecks 1895 Cup Final promises to be an emotional occasion and a fitting climax to Finals Day on August 12.

Laura Beaumont, Marketing Director at AB Sundecks, says:
“This competition gives clubs outside Super League a realistic chance of playing at Wembley Stadium on finals day and I am sure that this year’s event is going to be a fantastic occasion for both teams involved. “My message to both clubs is ‘don’t doubt yourselves, go for it and enjoy it!’”

The 2023 Final will be the last match of an action-packed day which kicks off with the inspiresports Champion Schools Year 7 Boys Final between Archbishop Sentamu Academy (Hull) and Bedford High School (Leigh), and continues with the first Betfred Women’s Challenge Cup Final at Wembley at 11.50am, followed by the Men’s Final at 3pm.

News Release by The RFL.