It was another nail biter at the Fox’s Biscuits Stadium, as the Bulldogs managed to just power past visitors Rochdale Hornets in the final closing minutes winning 26 – 12

Alex Rowe was the first to put his name on the score-sheet following on from a storming run across the line. Scott was on the kicking duties, converting successfully.

Louis Joufrett setup a beautiful pin pointed kick for Johnny Campbell to finish the move off in the corner. Dave Scott couldn’t convert this time.

What looked like a healthy lead before half-time for Diskin’s men, saw Rochdale hit back hard. The hornets pressure grew amongst the hosts defence, seeing plenty of penalties gaining them great yards. Jack Fox took advantage to squeeze through a gap and score. Whittaker couldn’t convert as the first half came to a close.


HALF-TIME: Batley Bulldogs 10 – 4 Rochdale Hornets.

The visitors came out all guns flaring, ramping up their points in spectacular fashion. Declan Cross brought the hornets closer into the game going over twice placing them in the lead for the first time. Whittaker struggled to convert both.

Rochdale had looked to have taken full control of how the game flowed with almost everything looking in their favour. However, thanks to a spirited Adam Gledhill who burst through an almost compact opposition defensive line the tables began to turn. Walker didn’t miss the conversion.

A final two tries came for the Bulldogs, with the first one being created by a James Brown kick to the corner for Wayne Reittie and Sam Smeaton following later on from some brilliant ball play along the wing. Walker converted one out of the two.


FULL-TIME: Batley Bulldogs 26 – 12 Rochdale Hornets


Batley Xlll – Dave Scott, Wayne Reittie, Sam Smeaton, Lewis Galbraith,  Johnny Campbell, Louis Joufrett, Dominic Brambani, Adam Gledhill, AlistairLeak, Alex Rowe, Dane Manning, Keenen Tomlinson and Joel Farrell.

Interchange – Patrick Walker, Alex Bretherton, James Brown and Michael Ward.

Rochdale Xlll – Richard Lepori, Deon Cross, Tobias Adamson, Setareki Talatoka, Jack Fox, Tyler Whittaker, Daniel Yates, Lewis Hatton, Ben Moores, Patrick Moran, Lee Mitchell, Luke Adamson and William Brickhill.

Interchange – Morgan Smith, Jovilisi Tairia, Joesph Ryan and Ryan Millington.