The Bulldogs continued their winning run in the pre-season games with victory over Craig Lingard’s Keighley Cougars.

The visitors were quick off the mark with new signing Lewis Galbraith drawing the defence to send Shaun Ainscough clear after just 4 minutes, Ainscough in turn sent Joe Chandler racing over to open the scoring, Tom Hemmingway adding the extras. Not long after another great combination on the left saw Hemmingway find Ainscough with a long pass before racing onto the winger’s neat chip to the in goal, again concerting his own try.

Defences were on top for a long period as the sides struggled in difficult conditions until just before the break debutant Izaac Farrell placed a neat kick through the defence for Jason Crookes to collect and dive over giving Batley a 16-0 half time lead.

The weather became even worse in the second half with the sleet turning to pouring rain. Both sides to their credit kept trying to play and eventually James Davey was able to cap a fine personal performance reaching out to score from close range. Hemmingway added the extras.

The home side had a good spell of pressure but outstanding defence from Batley kept their line intact and with 10 minutes remaining Full Back Dave Scott cut in from the left to dance through the Cougars back line and score, this time Farrell converted.

A serious looking injury to Tom Lillycrop was the only downside to a solid display from The Bulldogs who once again looked organised and discipline and played some excellent rugby league at times.

Final Score: Keighley Cougars 0-28 Batley Bulldogs

Batley 13: Dave Scott, Jason Crookes. Keenen Tomlinson. Lewis Galbraith. Shaun Ainscough. Tom Hemingway. Izaac Farrell. Tommy Holland. James Davey. Alex Rowe. Joe Chandler. Dane Manning & James Brown.

Interchanges: Adam Gledhill, Tom Lillycrop, Michael Ward & Danny Cowling.

Keighley 13: Ritchie Hawkyard, Davey Dixon, Hamish Barnes, Adam Ryder, Andy Gabriel, Benn Hardcastle, Matty Beharrell, Scott Law, Nathan Conroy, Matthew Bailey, Liam Senior, Josh Tonks & Mike Emmett.

Interchanges: Trae O’Sullivan, Josh Lynam, Ryan Wright, Cameron Leeming, Brad Nicholson, Jose Kenga & Dan Parker

Image: © Neville Wright