Match Report by Luke Winner.

The Bulldogs secured a home tie in the Kingstone Press Championship Shield Semi-Finals with an outstanding display to power past local rivals Dewsbury Rams.

Batley began down the hill, the early stages were tight with both sides defending well before the Bulldogs took control. Wayne Reittie opened the scoring on twenty minutes and charged over again five minutes later, both tries followng some brilliant play from left to right. Walker converted one out of two.

Batley’s defence was holding tight and firm keeping the Rams at bay. Even with multiple penalties on the Bulldogs line they still couldn’t break it. This lead to frustration for the Rams, as after three sets in the hosts ten, they had made no advances and penalties were starting to leak. With two penalties going in Batley’s’ favour, it was just a matter of time before Dane Manning dug deep taking three Dewsbury defenders over their line with him to score. Walker added the extras. Batley went into the break leading 16 – 0.

Matt Diskin’s side started the second half stronger than the first, placing an immense amount of pressure until the Rams broke and Sykes was penalised. Wayne Reittie went over for a hat-trick after more expansive play set him up perfectly down the wing. Walker converted. A few minutes ticked away until Wayne Reittie went speeding over the line again for his fourth try of the game. Walker missed the conversion.

A moment of weakness and Dewsbury had back to back sets again on the Bulldogs line. However, the defensive structure of Diskin’s men held well forcing a turnover.  Man of the Match Dane Manning crossed for his second try of the game on 75 minutes before Alex Rowe extended the lead further, crashing over taking at least four Dewsbury men with him. Walker added the extras.

With just a minute remaining Dewsbury went into a frenzy shipping the ball everywhere trying to find a gap and just before any break could be made, they were wrapped up.

Full-time: Batley Bulldogs 38 – 0 Dewsbury Rams.

Tries: Reittie (21,25,45,54), Manning (40,75), Rowe (79)

Conversions: Walker (25,40,45,75,79)

Batley – David Scott, Wayne Reittie, Sam Smeaton, Jason Crookes, Shaun Ainscough, Patrick Walker, Dominic Brambani, Will Maher, Alistair Leek, Tom Lillycrop, Dane Manning, James Harrison, Joel Farrell

Subs – Brad Day, Cain Southernwood, Alex Rowe, Adam Gledhill

Dewsbury – James Glover, Dale Morton, Macauley Hallett, Lucas Walshaw, Gareth Potts, Paul Sykes, Dom Speakman, Jode Sheriffe, Sam Day, Jack Teanby, Robert Spicer, Michael Knowles, Aaron Brown.

Subs – Mickael Goudemand, Aaron Ollett, Toby Adamson, Toby Everett